You are here

Midisound Carmageddon 1 on win98

al_bundy's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 6
Midisound Carmageddon 1 on win98
#1 Submitted: Fri, 12/08/2016 - 18:10

Hello,
i will play carmageddon 1 on a Winfows 98 machine.
Hardware:
Biostar M7NCG400
Athlon XP
AC97 Onboardsoundcard
Geforce 4MX onboard GPU

I have some problems to play this game with musik.
I cant select a Mididevice

Do you have a solution?
Thanks in advance.

Best regards Marc

Edited by: al_bundy on 12/08/2016 - 18:11
lemonrev's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Kickstarter Backer
Posts: 1627
Submitted: Sat, 13/08/2016 - 00:40

yes solution one do not use 98 or 95 run in dosmode if at all possible, and run carma.exe should work, but win 95 98 you dont need. maybe choosing another sound device, do you have on board sound ? i know older boards did not have this so good luck luck

al_bundy's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 6
Submitted: Sat, 13/08/2016 - 07:12

Hello,
is started my pc in dosmode and would like to play blood. (another DOSGAME)
Blood cant start because soundsetup failed.
Roland MPU-401 could not detected.
Roland MPU 401 is the Mididevice.

I have an onboardsoundcard yes.
If i start Blood in Windows 98Se, i make soundsetup and all will works fine.
Roland MPU 401 was detected and i have music in Windows.
But if i start the game, i dont hear music. In fact, the Midi device does not work.

So i think i cant select a midi device in carmageddon if i would like to start the game in dos.

Best regards Marc

lemonrev's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Kickstarter Backer
Posts: 1627
Submitted: Sat, 13/08/2016 - 07:41

the autoexec.bat and config.sys < i think those two files are the major componets to configuring your system for dos.

what is your setup for your midi device in dos something like 220 or 240 5 7 1 or something like that it can come down to things like this

if you need more info i will look it up on the web.

Good luck, Blood is a good game :)

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1117
Submitted: Sat, 13/08/2016 - 20:44

Carmageddon doesn't use MIDI (despite the midi songs in the root directory). What are the problems: no sound at all, or just no music?
It should be easier to run the game in Windows directly via CARM95.EXE. Is DirectX installed on your machine (DX5 for C1 I think)?

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

QTZ's picture
QTZ
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 33
Submitted: Sat, 13/08/2016 - 23:05

In general to play in real DOS you need DOS drivers for sound, CD-ROM, mouse, network, 3Dfx (if hardware is installed) and AFAIR also for graphic if you want play in hires, also you need to configure memory...
Looking at http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=265 there are no drivers for DOS for this motherboard, maybe you have some on shipped CD or Floppies?
Here http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=18646 is a random discussion about sound in DOS.
Here http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=10350 is a random discussion about VIA AC97 in DOS.
(Audio need to be enabled in BIOS).
Looking at VIA page http://download.viatech.com/en/support/driversSelect.jsp there are DOS sound drivers for AC97 chipsets.

Also look Toshiba-3 post above.

Edited by: QTZ on Sat, 13/08/2016 - 23:05
al_bundy's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 6
Submitted: Sun, 14/08/2016 - 06:02

Hello,
i have installed dx9c.
I dont have music.
I play in 3dfx mode.
I have cd-rom.
Floppy i can install.

MPU 401: Interrupt 05, E/A Bereich 0300 - 301, Midi Port IRQ 5 (Bios), Midi Port Adress 300 (Bios)

€dit:
i had installed VIA Vinyl Audio driver - Multilingual 7.00B
No Music in Blood.

Edited by: al_bundy on Sun, 14/08/2016 - 07:45
lemonrev's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Kickstarter Backer
Posts: 1627
Submitted: Sun, 14/08/2016 - 19:45

http://support.rolanddga.com/_layouts/rolanddga/productdetail.aspx?pm=gx-24 < driver page for roland sound drivers for all windows versions you can try that.

cdn.roland.com/assets/media/pdf/MPU401_Win95.pdf < you can read up on mpu 401 there and settings you could have done to sound cards to get it to work.

http://bjt42.github.io/softmpu/ < and emulation software you can have a look at.

Good luck.

andreas aspenberg's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 25
Submitted: Tue, 23/08/2016 - 15:06

one alternative is to use a different sound card in the game. mpu 401 is not always working. i had the same soundcard on my old compaq and i never got it working in dos games despite running them in windows with the card installed in windows. maybe yours is non functional as well. you could try using sound blaster for music as most cards support that.

randomness