You are here

Grand Theft Auto: Max Pack - a complete pack à la GOG

Pages

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1134
Grand Theft Auto: Max Pack - a complete pack à la GOG
#1 Submitted: Mon, 27/06/2016 - 14:56

GRAND THEFT AUTO: MAX PACK includes GTA1 and both its mission packs London 69 and London 61, along with the ingame radio stations.

It is meant for newer systems like Windows 8.1 and Windows 10.

It tries to be a proper complete pack based on Dosbox like GOG would do, which can run from a single executable and replace Steam's GTA release, and has good compatibility and performance out of the box.

Download it there for Windows: http://rr2000.toshiba-3.com/R6/GTA1-MAX.ZIP
And for Mac OSX: http://rr2000.toshiba-3.com/R6/GTA1-MAX.DMG

As this is basicaly Dosbox, you can tweak it all the way you want by editing dosbox.conf. Just always pay attention to keep the bottom [autoexec] section intact.
As previously implied, it can replace Steam's GTA1 release if you extract the content of the archive in the WINO folder (see readme below).

Screenshots + Readme to follow:
Improved launcher

GRAND THEFT AUTO: MAX PACK gathers GTA1, London 69 & 61, both soundtracks.

It is meant for recent Windows systems like Windows 8.1 and Windows 10.
City maps are in the DOCS folder.


1. INSTRUCTIONS +STEAM
2. TROUBLESHOOTING & PERFORMANCE
3. CHANGELOG
4. CREDITS
5. LEGAL


1. INSTRUCTIONS +STEAM
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
INSTALL: Just extract the content of the archive to a new folder.

STEAM: Extract the content of the archive into the WINO folder to launch
    the pack from Steam (it will replace the main executable).
    (Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Grand Theft Auto\WINO)
    The Steam overlay should work fine with this pack's default settings.

GLIDE: Run nGlide_config.exe to set Glide settings. Recommended settings:
    Screen resolution:  By desktop
    Aspect ratio:       Preserve original
    Refresh rate:       By app (Default)
    Vertical sync':     On (Default)
    Gamma correction:   0.8
    3Dfx logo splash:   Off

TOP MENU BAR: If the top menu bar appears ingame, hit ALT+ENTER two times.

WINDOWED: It is possible to run the pack in windowed mode by editing
    the file dosbox.conf with a text editor and change the line:
        fullscreen=true  to  fullscreen=false
    The game will then run in a window at the game's original resolution.
    This can also be changed by editing the following line:
        windowresolution=original  to  windowresolution=1024x768  for example.

MAC OSX: This pack is also available for Mac OSX, search it on Google!

LINUX: The pack works with Dosbox SVN builds for Linux. As you're on Linux,
    I expect you to know your way around. i.e. just get it to load dosbox.conf.
    Wine can run the pack as well by the way.

WIN XP: You don't really need this pack as the Rockstar Classics release works
    on Windows XP. You can download Dosbox and drop (only) the main executable
    in the pack's main folder to get it working though.
    You can also search for ThirteenAG's GTA1+Widescreen Pack.


2. TROUBLESHOOTING & PERFORMANCE
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
TOP MENU BAR: As said up there, if the top menu bar partially appears ingame,
    just hit ALT+ENTER twice (2x), to exit and re-enter fullscreen mode.

GAME IS SLOW: a. Test the Glide mode, it might perform better than normal mode.
              b. Ingame, press F11 and lower the resolution to 640x480x32.
              c. Run the game in a WINDOW as explained in point 1. up there.

DISABLE MUSIC: Sound and/or music can be disabled from the game menu.

LONDON 69 CUTSCENES: For some reason, the cutscenes don't play properly within
    London '69 in normal mode. Try to bypass them or use either the Glide mode
    or 8bit mode (from the setup) to play them correctly.
    That bug also generates hundreds of screenshots within the game files. The
    launcher deletes them upon starting and quitting the game in that mode.

CRASHES ON INGAME RESOLUTION CHANGE: Delete PLAYER_A/E.DAT files from folders
    \GTADATA and \GTADATA\UK. It can also be done from the Options panel in the
    launcher. This also resets the scores.

LOW COLOR/RES GTA: The 8bit version of each game can be launched from their
    respective setup which can be found in [4] Options > [4] Run Setup.
    London 61 lowres mode is unofficial and incomplete (based on L'69 exec).

DOSBOX SAVE STATES: Save states sadly make the Glide mode crash. If you want to
    use save state, you have to play in normal mode.

GLIDE WRAPPER ISSUES: dgVoodoo2 is an alternative to the included nGlide that
    you can download and try in the latter's place. Just make sure to replace
    the original glide2x.dll with dgVoodoo2's and put nglide_config.exe aside.


3. CHANGELOG
^^^^^^^^^^^^
V1.3: Minor tweaks. More bugs and infos referenced in the Readme.
V1.2: Split Mac version apart. Fixed UK setups and 8bit modes.
      Fixed a Glide mishap.
V1.1: Improved launcher. Added Glide mode. Experimental Mac OSX support.
      Base ingame resolution set to 800x600x32. New README.TXT.
v1.0: First release. Spiritual successor to the "LONDON 69 & 61 for XP" pack.


4. CREDITS
^^^^^^^^^^
This pack is using Dosbox DAUM and nGlide 1.05.
Pack by Toshiba-3, 2016.


5. LEGAL
^^^^^^^^
Sadly, this pack and its distribution are probably illegal one way or another.
If you decide to share this pack online, expect that your publication might be
moderated/truncated/deleted if moderators don't feel like tolerating links with
questionable legality.

The initiative of this pack comes from the fact the Steam release of GTA1 
doesn't work well or at all for many people, but also that Rockstar made GTA1 
and London 61 freely available online for a while (L'61 still is). 
It is expected that people interested in this pack already own GTA1 at least 
once (be it a physical copy or here on Steam) and I personally think that this
is a reasonable expectation.

That is obviously just my personal standpoint on the matter and I totally 
understand that views on this might differ greatly. However I've applied this
state of mind while retro-modding/gaming for years now and must say it makes
for a more serene approach to enjoy and modify old games.

Don't hesitate to share your feedback with me!
Especially if people try it on Mac/Linux :)

Edited by: Toshiba-3 on 31/07/2016 - 14:09

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

Legomeaker101's picture
Cunning Stunt Licker
Posts: 188
Submitted: Mon, 27/06/2016 - 16:08

tried it on my mac didnt work because "Grand Theft Auto.exe is a windows program witch boxer doesn not support."

if cars aren't meant to crash why do they have air bags?

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1134
Submitted: Mon, 27/06/2016 - 19:45

Legomeaker: Thanks for the feedback. Grand Theft Auto.exe is actually Dosbox, I guess I didn't make that clear enough. Setting it up for Boxer might require more fiddling but it should work easily with the Mac build of Dosbox DAUM (as linked in the readme). You just have to drop the Mac build in the same folder as the Windows executable.

At first I had included the Linux and Mac builds directly but I didn't get why the Linux program didn't work at all on Ubuntu (I'm clueless with Linux), also couldn't test Mac so I prefered to remove the builds from the archive and let the end-user handle the crossplatform aspect. However if it proves to work, I can simply include the Mac DAUM build directly in the archive. (Still no idea about Linux though)

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

Legomeaker101's picture
Cunning Stunt Licker
Posts: 188
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 01:47

i tried it in dosbox and i get: "this program cannot be run in dos mode"

if cars aren't meant to crash why do they have air bags?

mlder1's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Kickstarter Backer
Posts: 21
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 08:26

Awesome job! I just gave it a test run and it runs well.

CrapShoot's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 40
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 09:17

Runs great on Linux (tried the easy peasy way via Wine).

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1134
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 14:47

Thank you guys for testing! I forgot about Wine, I'll add that as a suggestion in the readme :)

@Legomeaker: To make it easier, I included two Mac versions of Dosbox in the pack (just download it again). Can you tell me if they work? Do they go into fullscreen properly? Is one performing better than the other? Thanks ;)
(btw: one is simply named 'dosbox', the other one is named 'Mac GTA Max Pack')

Edited by: Toshiba-3 on Tue, 28/06/2016 - 14:49

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

Legomeaker101's picture
Cunning Stunt Licker
Posts: 188
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 17:02

the dosbox doesn't work but the mac gta one works and goes fullscreen cool pack :)

if cars aren't meant to crash why do they have air bags?

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1134
Submitted: Tue, 28/06/2016 - 17:17

Excellent! Thanks for your feedback!

[EDIT] 3 July:
Improved launcher.
Fixed UK setups and 8bit modes.
Added Glide mode.
Split Mac version apart.
Base ingame resolution set to 800x600x32.
New README.TXT.

Edited by: Toshiba-3 on Sun, 03/07/2016 - 17:02

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

elandyno's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 3
Submitted: Fri, 22/07/2016 - 23:29

This pack is great! The game runs flawless on software and glide mode. This release is near perfect. The only little thing I think is missing is an option in the autoexec for hosting or joining a network game, like in the GOG releases.

Off topic: I tried the Meld Pack. It's a great pack for lan parties. But the problem I have is that when I reload a game it automatic changes the difficulty to easy. Is there any way to fix that?

Privata's picture
Cunning Stunt Licker
Posts: 368
Submitted: Fri, 22/07/2016 - 23:39

I noticed missing FX , but that might be my own hardware messing up , or me not remembering GTA1 very well

Blood marks from tiers dont seem to happen , same with blood splats on bullet impacts (blood pools do work)

But I am going to say its my hardware as with C2 I dont get blood smear (if anyone has an idea how to fix that tell me , I miss the smear)

Pages

randomness