You are here

DirectDraw Error

ChrizzFTW's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 3
DirectDraw Error
#1 Submitted: Mon, 15/09/2014 - 15:38

Hey,

I finally found Carmageddon 1 (this game was my whole childhood :D) again and tried to run it on Windows 7. But everytime, I start the game, the following error message appears:
"Carmageddon Fatal Error: Unable to set up DirectDraw - please check that DirectX is installed."

Of course, DirectX is installed (newest version). :P

Any suggestions?

Edited by: ChrizzFTW on 15/09/2014 - 16:07
Trent's picture
I was in the War!
Community VIPKickstarter BackerCompetition Winner
Posts: 2997
Submitted: Mon, 15/09/2014 - 16:02

You posted in the wrong section, this is technical support for Carmageddon: Reincarnation, not the original game. You'd probably best put this thread in the Carmageddon 1 forum of the games section (near the bottom of the forum index).

ChrizzFTW's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 3
Submitted: Mon, 15/09/2014 - 16:08

Whoops, my mistake. Hope this is the right section, now. :)

Toshiba-3's picture
Velociraptor Fister
Community VIPKickstarter Backer
Posts: 1134
Submitted: Tue, 16/09/2014 - 08:25

Hi Chrizz, have you tried the modified ddraw.dll? You can download it there: http://hifi.iki.fi/cnc-ddraw/#download
Just place it in the same folder as the executable, run Carma95 once then you can modify the generated ddraw.ini file (according to the previous link configuration section)

If this doesn't solve your issue, tell us more about your version (GOG, meld pack, etc.) and if you tried the 3DFX mode via DosBox.

... and carmageddon add-ons at road reaction.

ChrizzFTW's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 3
Submitted: Tue, 16/09/2014 - 10:48

Toshiba-3 wrote:
Hi Chrizz, have you tried the modified ddraw.dll? You can download it there: http://hifi.iki.fi/cnc-ddraw/#download
Just place it in the same folder as the executable, run Carma95 once then you can modify the generated ddraw.ini file (according to the previous link configuration section)

If this doesn't solve your issue, tell us more about your version (GOG, meld pack, etc.) and if you tried the 3DFX mode via DosBox.

Works! Thank you!

Edited by: ChrizzFTW on Tue, 16/09/2014 - 11:03
simran preet's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 1
Submitted: Wed, 07/12/2016 - 12:48

Hey,

Same problem arise with me, I have copied the file ddraw.dll in the folder and the game started..
But!! the size of the window is very small.. how to make it to full sized window???
Please respond..
Thanks...

miniz1994's picture
Fluffy Bunny
Posts: 2
Submitted: Wed, 07/12/2016 - 13:17

In the ddraw config DDRAW.ini for me here (opens with notepad fine) you should have windowed=false to get full screen, also make sure to put on 32 bit textures or 16 bit textures depending on what you want there as well.
ofc you can add in a higher resolution there as well (not sure if the game takes that into account but worth a try.)